Clemson University

From President Strode to President Clements: 124 Years of Clemson Leadership

As the University welcomes Dr. James P. "Jim" Clements as the 15th president to lead the school into the future, take a look back at the life and times of the previous occupants of that position. Photographs, documents and artifacts from the holdings of the Special Collections Library reflect Clemson’s fourteen presidents and the times in which they led.  Many of their names -- Strode, Hartzog, Craighead, Mell, Riggs, Sikes, Poole, Edwards, Atchley, Cox, Lennon, Prince, Curris and Barker – are familiar from their namesake buildings around campus.  Spend some time learning more about the people behind the names.  

Friday, March 14, 2014 at 8:30am to 4:30pm

Strom Thurmond Institute, Special Collections Library
230 Kappa St., Clemson, SC 29634, USA

Event Type




Contact Name:

Susan Hiott

Contact Phone:


Contact Email:


Recent Activity